Instagram update How to Make Instagram Dark Mode: Android and iPhone
Automation & Bots

Social Media Automation Tools: Safe vs Risky

Social Media Automation Tools: Safe vs Risky

Social media automation covers two very different things: tools that publish posts you wrote at a time you chose, and bots that like, follow and comment on your behalf. This guide to social media automation tools separates the two, because Instagram treats them differently and your account risk depends on which one you pick.

It replaces a 2019 list that put a growth bot, a scheduler and a link-in-bio page side by side. Every price and feature below comes from each provider’s own page, read on 21 October 2026. SUEVU did not buy, sign up for or test any of these tools. This is desk research, and prices change.

Quick answer: for scheduling, use a tool that connects through Instagram’s official publishing route, such as Later or Buffer, or Meta’s own Business Suite. For automated likes, follows and comments, Kenji and Upleap are the two we checked, and both sit in the category Instagram says breaks its rules. Scheduling carries low account risk. Engagement bots carry real risk.

Ranked list of five Instagram automation tools with prices: Later, Buffer, Meta Business Suite, Kenji and Upleap, split into schedulers and engagement bots.
Schedulers connect through Instagram's official route; the two engagement bots sit in the category Instagram says breaks its rules.

Two kinds of automation

Publishing automation takes content you created and posts it later. It saves time and does not change how your account behaves toward other people. Our guide to scheduling Instagram posts walks through the steps. Meta’s developer documentation says apps can use the Instagram Platform to publish images, videos, reels and carousels for users who connect a professional (business or creator) account.

Engagement automation acts on other accounts: it follows, unfollows, likes, comments and views stories to attract attention. Instagram’s position is clear. In a 2018 announcement, Instagram said it would remove inauthentic likes, follows and comments from accounts that use third-party apps to boost popularity, and that such apps violate its Community Guidelines and Terms of Use.

Our own category pages split the same way: see Content & Scheduling for planners and Automation & Bots for the riskier group.

The tools compared

All figures are what the provider’s pricing or home page showed on 21 October 2026, in the currency shown there.

Tool Type Price shown Trial or free plan Connection method stated?
Later Scheduler $18.75, $37.50 and $82.50 a month, billed yearly 14-day trial, no free plan listed Says it is an official partner of Instagram; method not described
Buffer Scheduler Free; $5 a month per channel (Essentials); $10 (Team) Free plan; 14-day trial on paid plans Automatic publishing for business and creator accounts
Meta Business Suite Scheduler and inbox Not stated on the page Not stated Made by Meta
Kenji Engagement bot Plans from $19 shown (labels unclear) 3-day free trial No
Upleap Engagement automation $39, $69 and $119 listed; about half that billed yearly 7-day free trial No

Also see the Bigbangram review ($1 trial in terms); what happened to Jarvee (site closed).

Scheduling tools

Later

  • What it does: a visual planner for posts, carousels, Stories and Reels with auto publish, plus hashtag suggestions, best-time recommendations, comment management and a link-in-bio page, according to Later’s Instagram scheduler page.
  • Price: Starter $18.75 a month (one social set, 30 posts per profile), Growth $37.50 (two sets, 180 posts per profile), Scale $82.50 (six sets, unlimited posts), all billed yearly. Monthly-billing prices were not shown in the part of the page we read.
  • Trial: 14 days on every plan. The 2019 version of this article described a free plan; the current pricing page lists none.
  • Safety: Later’s partner page says it is “an official partner with Instagram”. The pages we read did not describe the technical connection method, so we cannot say more than that.

Buffer

  • What it does: schedules posts across Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok, X, YouTube, Threads, Pinterest and others.
  • Price: a free plan with up to 3 channels and 10 scheduled posts per channel. Paid plans are billed per channel: Essentials from $5 a month and Team from $10 a month, each with a 14-day trial. The page quotes annual savings as both “2 months” and “20%”, so check the checkout for the exact figure.
  • Instagram detail: Buffer says business and creator accounts support automatic publishing, while personal profiles only get a reminder to post manually. That lines up with Meta’s professional-account requirement for API publishing.
  • Limits: first-comment scheduling is not on the free plan, and the free plan caps scheduled posts per channel.

Meta Business Suite

Meta’s own page describes it as a place to create or schedule posts, stories and ads, read insights and answer messages for Facebook and Instagram. The page did not state a price. As Meta’s own product, it avoids the third-party question entirely, though it covers fewer networks than Later or Buffer. For a wider list of planners, see our Instagram manager tools roundup.

Engagement bots

Kenji

  • Status: the site loaded on 21 October 2026 with no shutdown notice or redirect.
  • What it does: Kenji describes itself as an Instagram bot powered by AI that automates follows, unfollows, likes, comments and story views. The page says it uses real phones to mimic human behavior.
  • Price: three plans (Social Rookie, Digital Influencer, CyberSocial Pro). The page shows $19 and $39, $34 and $69, $64 and $119, plus yearly totals of $229, $409 and $769, without clearly labelling which figure is monthly.
  • Limits: follow/unfollow automation cannot be switched off. Follower figures such as “600 – 800+ Followers /mo” are estimates, and the “9.1/10 by over 110,000 users” rating has no stated source.
  • Trial: 3 days.
  • Connection: the page does not say how your account is linked or whether a password is needed. It mentions “multi-proxy login support”. Proxy providers are reviewed separately, for example on our Leaf Proxies status page.

The 2019 article called Kenji one of the only bots using machine-learned AI. We could not confirm that and have dropped it.

Upleap

  • What it does: Upleap targets users by hashtag, similar accounts or location and “automatically interacts with targeted Instagram users on your behalf”. Features listed include follow/unfollow automation, welcome DM automation and auto-like after follow.
  • Price: Basic $39, Standard $69, Pro $119 a month listed; $229, $409 and $769 a year. Follower figures (600 to 800+, 800 to 1,200+, 1,200 to 1,600+ a month) are estimates, not guarantees.
  • Trial: 7 days. The page does not say whether a card is needed.
  • Claims to read carefully: the page says “no bots” while listing automation features, and does not reconcile the two. It does not say a human manager does the work. The 2019 article’s account-manager claims are not on the current page, so we removed them.

Read our longer Upleap review for context.

Official API or password: what is safe

The most useful question to ask about any automation tool is how it connects to Instagram.

  • Official connection. You log in on Instagram’s or Facebook’s own screen and grant permission to a professional account. The tool never sees your password and can only do what Meta’s API allows, which includes publishing and reading insights. Schedulers usually work this way.
  • Password-based or app-driven automation. The tool logs in as you, or drives a phone or browser. It can do things the API does not offer, such as mass following, but it may need your credentials and it behaves like a person using the app.

For Kenji and Upleap, the pages we read do not say which method is used, so we cannot say. Our guide to Instagram automation explains the risks in more detail. What we can say is that both advertise follows, unfollows and likes, the activity Instagram’s 2018 announcement calls inauthentic. That post also says affected accounts receive a message and are asked to change their password, and that accounts which keep using such apps may see their Instagram experience impacted.

A practical reading: no automation tool is guaranteed safe, and nobody outside Instagram can promise you will avoid action blocks. Scheduling through an official route is the low-risk end. Bulk engagement is the high-risk end. We did not test any tool, so we have no ban data of our own.

Who should use what

  • One creator or small brand: Buffer’s free plan or Meta Business Suite covers basic scheduling at no stated cost.
  • Visual planning and link in bio: Later, if its yearly price suits you.
  • Anyone tempted by growth bots: read the risk section first, and compare options in our Instagram growth services roundup. Content-led growth is slower but has no ban risk.
  • Browsing the whole toolbox: start from Instagram tools by category.

FAQ

What is social media automation?

Using software to do repeat tasks, mainly scheduling posts and, with riskier tools, liking, following and commenting.

Is scheduling posts against Instagram’s rules?

Meta’s documentation says apps can publish to professional accounts through its API, so scheduling through that route is a supported use. We did not verify any single tool’s technical method.

Do Instagram bots work?

The providers publish estimates, for example 600 to 800+ followers a month, but these are marketing figures. We have no independent evidence and did not test them.

Can automation get my account banned?

Instagram says apps that generate fake likes, follows and comments violate its terms and that it removes that activity. What happens to an individual account is Instagram’s decision.

Is there a free option?

Buffer’s page lists a free plan for up to three channels. Later’s pricing page lists a trial and no free plan.

Why did SUEVU drop Bio.fm from this list?

It is a link-in-bio page, not automation. Its home page loaded and said “Your bio is free”, but we could not confirm current pricing or operating status. See our guide to link in bio tools instead.

Further reading

Pricing and features were read on 21 October 2026 from each provider’s own pages. SUEVU has not bought, signed up for or tested any tool here.

Erica

Erica wrote 36 of SUEVU’s reviews and guides in 2019, covering Instagram growth services, bots and automation tools.

More from Erica →